A Willful Woman…

Thoughts about books from a romance addict.

Sad to Be Here

on September 21, 2013

Ugh. I did not want to blog. That is, I didn’t want to have to run a blog. As a contributor to Dear Author and KarenKnowsBest, all I need to worry about is my grammar and whether my links work.

However, GoodReads, my former favorite playground on the Internet, has turned into a steaming pile of poo, unbearably nice place full of puppies and unicorns. And now I’m in the habit of commenting on my reads and feel lost and incomplete if I don’t, but I’m kind of hesitant to put a lot more time and effort into something belonging to someone else. Which I suppose makes even using Blogger a bit dubious, but I don’t think my outrage goes far enough to build an entire new blogging platform by myself.

I’m going to repost some of my favorite reviews here, as I (sob) delete them from GoodReads.  And I’ll add new ones. If you want to be social elsewhere, I’m also willaful at Booklikes, The Reading Room and Library Thing, though I may well forget to check all those accounts. The migration of my GoodReads friends will undoubtedly influence where I spend my time. (Hint, hint.)

6 responses to “Sad to Be Here

  1. I'm moving my stuff to Booklikes but I think I'm going to keep my GR account open for those friends who do stay, just to get the recommendations. I hate what's happened.

  2. willaful says:

    I'm leaving it open for now, though I suspect if I'm not contributing reviews, the social element will die pretty quickly.

  3. AJH says:

    *offers blog-warming cactus* I'm going to miss you on GR – the social element is really compulsive and happy-making.I think the situation is, in general, complex and has been horribly mishandled.I think, unfortunately, I'm going to have maintain some sort of presence there, but I'm hoping to try and move my readerly stuff elsewhere. Where, however, is the big question :/

  4. willaful says:

    Thank you, I will set it up in a corner so shy people can hide behind it. 🙂

  5. Rane Aria says:

    Hola Willa! *huggles* I've been disappointed in GR many times over for their lack of actions and catering to the 'big man' but I've come back again because of the dear friends I have there, I'm going to check out Booklikes, but I;m going to weather this recent GR storm to see what happens and for those who stay

  6. farmwifetwo says:

    Going to stay at good reads for now. Will slowly move some out as the rush to move lessens. Will not be reviewing so will decide what to do as the months move on. It's my main booklist I'm not that keen on dumping it without plans. At fictfact too if you wander there. But it is for series.

Got something to say?

Something More

my extensive reading

Blue Castle Considerations

thoughtations, contemplations, fulminations & other random things from books...

...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

Voracious reader, book lover, spastic blogger, audiologist. These things are some of me, but not the sum of me.

Queer Romance Month

because love is not a subgenre

Cate Marsden.

Love and Zombies. And books. And infrequent updates.

Book Thingo

Reading (mostly) romance books down under

Shallowreader

...barely scratching the surface

Olivia Dade

Sex. Banter. Nerdery. Love.

Flight into Fantasy

Romance, speculative fiction, and YA book reviews, book chatter, and random silliness

Her Hands, My Hands

The vagaries of my mind, the products of my hands. Not always safe for work.

dabwaha

64 books. 1 Champion. Get your game on.

Stop the STGRB Bullies

Your hypocrisy is showing

Blue Moon

Audiobook reviews and book reviews. Occasional opining.

Miss Bates Reads Romance

Miss Bates is Austen's loquacious spinster in Emma. No doubt Miss Bates read romances ... here's what she would've thought of them.

