A Willful Woman…

Thoughts about books from a romance addict.

DNF: The Arrangement by Mary Balogh

on October 19, 2013

I fear my relationship with Balogh’s books has hit a new low — my first DNF. 

I actually thought at first that I might enjoy this: it’s a Cinderella story, but the apparently mousy Cinderella has an edge to her. (She secretly draws pointed caricatures of everyone who mistreats her.) But then, oh God, people started talking to each other, and when people talk to each other in a Balogh book these days, I think I might as well throw away my Ambien prescription. They keep trying to be witty or profound or humane and they just bore me so much my ears bleed.

And Vincent, the blind hero… woof. I think Balogh is genuinely trying to write a depiction of a disabled character that is accurate and suitable to the time period, yet not offensive to modern readers, but if anything, she tried too hard. He feels right to me, inasmuch as I know anything about being blind, but the attitudes of all the other characters to him continually strike false notes.

I can’t imagine anything remotely interesting happening to this couple. They’re going to charmingly banter their way into the sunset surrounded by the other charmingly bantering characters of this series, and I not only feel no need to witness it, but don’t think I can even stand it. I made it to the 40% mark, which is probably closer to 50%, taking into account promos at the end. Enough.

2 responses to “DNF: The Arrangement by Mary Balogh

  1. I finished the book, and can say that the last half was better than the first. My problem with the book is that there are entire chunks of dialogue where every time the hero opened his mouth, I kept hearing the voice Stephen Fry used when he played Winnie-the-Pooh.

Got something to say?

Something More

my extensive reading

Blue Castle Considerations

thoughtations, contemplations, fulminations & other random things from books...

...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

Voracious reader, book lover, spastic blogger, audiologist. These things are some of me, but not the sum of me.

Queer Romance Month

because love is not a subgenre

Cate Marsden.

Love and Zombies. And books. And infrequent updates.

Book Thingo

Reading (mostly) romance books down under

Shallowreader

...barely scratching the surface

Olivia Dade

Sex. Banter. Nerdery. Love.

Flight into Fantasy

Romance, speculative fiction, and YA book reviews, book chatter, and random silliness

Her Hands, My Hands

The vagaries of my mind, the products of my hands. Not always safe for work.

dabwaha

64 books. 1 Champion. Get your game on.

Stop the STGRB Bullies

Your hypocrisy is showing

Blue Moon

Audiobook reviews and book reviews. Occasional opining.

Miss Bates Reads Romance

Miss Bates is Austen's loquacious spinster in Emma. No doubt Miss Bates read romances ... here's what she would've thought of them.

