A Willful Woman…

Thoughts about books from a romance addict.

No, I’m Okay

on October 28, 2013

Feeling a bit like this SNL sketch today.

I heard from GrowlyCub that Sherry Thomas’s latest book includes characters from Private Arrangements, so of course I had to reread that. Was up til past one because I couldn’t put it down. What an amazing way she has with language, and characters, and most especially with heartbreak. My guts were in a perpetual twist for three hours; I think the book should come with a warning label that says, “Do Not Read Without Supervision by Person Able to Administer Emergency Hugs and Kisses.”

It was a good reminder that really, not every book is as wonderful as every other book, or as wonderful for every reader, and that’s okay.  I don’t even want to be up til past 1 every time I read a book.  Though I wouldn’t mind if it happened more often than it does.

6 responses to “No, I’m Okay

  1. farmwifetwo says:

    Nor should everyone enjoy everything, then we'd all be little clones of each other. I try not to read anything new after supper unless I'm nearly finished a book. Only re-reads. Even then I set my phone for 10pm.

  2. PeggyL says:

    Although not a favourite, PA will always hold a special place, just because it is the first book I read by Sherry Thomas. Since it can draw out such strong emotions from you, is it your fav? If not, which one? (Mine is NQaH.)

  3. willaful says:

    I would say it's my favorite, though I might not consider it her best book. I'd have to do some rereading to choose that. I love all of her stand alones, except for Delicious.

  4. Pamela1740 says:

    I love Not Quite A Husband. And I agree that the foodie one was my least favorite. 😉

  5. AJH says:

    Terrifyingly good books can be really draining sometimes, though I confess I haven't got round to this one.But when I finished Flowers from the Storm I wandered weepily in circles, until I was rescued.I can remember the confused tangle of my thoughts going "omgthatwasbrilliantineverwanttohavetoreaditagainever"*air drops in a crate of emergency hugs*

  6. willaful says:

    I've had some of those, though I wouldn't put Private Arrangements in that category. It's more the "No…. ouch… ack… ahhhhhhhhhhh" kind of book.

Got something to say?

Something More

my extensive reading

Blue Castle Considerations

thoughtations, contemplations, fulminations & other random things from books...

...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

Voracious reader, book lover, spastic blogger, audiologist. These things are some of me, but not the sum of me.

Queer Romance Month

because love is not a subgenre

Cate Marsden.

Love and Zombies. And books. And infrequent updates.

Book Thingo

Reading (mostly) romance books down under

Shallowreader

...barely scratching the surface

Olivia Dade

Sex. Banter. Nerdery. Love.

Flight into Fantasy

Romance, speculative fiction, and YA book reviews, book chatter, and random silliness

Her Hands, My Hands

The vagaries of my mind, the products of my hands. Not always safe for work.

dabwaha

64 books. 1 Champion. Get your game on.

Stop the STGRB Bullies

Your hypocrisy is showing

Blue Moon

Audiobook reviews and book reviews. Occasional opining.

Miss Bates Reads Romance

Miss Bates is Austen's loquacious spinster in Emma. No doubt Miss Bates read romances ... here's what she would've thought of them.

