A Willful Woman…

Thoughts about books from a romance addict.

Semi-Reviews: Who Reads Short-Shorts Edition

on January 21, 2014

Season of Second Chances by Brighton Walsh

What tickled me: Not hyper realistic, but a very believable sort of story.

What ticked me off: I kinda didn’t like the way the conflict went, but it pulled it together in the end.

Who might like it: Readers who like reunion stories.

A woman runs into her workaholic ex while snowbound in Chicago, and they wonder if they can give it another try. This is a fairly conventional contemporary romance novella, but it had a sweetness to it that appealed to me (not a euphemism, it’s quite steamy.) Though it’s slightly on the too-good-to-be-true side, it felt like the sort of thing that might really happen to people.

The Bridge by Rebecca Rogers Maher.

This novella was much loved by my online reading peeps, and it’s unquestionably beautifully written… I would have to give it a high rating. But it perturbed me so much, I kinda hate it. Just cut too close to the bone, I guess.

2 responses to “Semi-Reviews: Who Reads Short-Shorts Edition

  1. Ros says:

    I’m with you on The Bridge. I don’t ever want to read it again and I’m not absolutely sure I’m glad I read it. I admire it and I’m glad she was able to write it. But it is not what I want in my regular reading.

  2. Shannon C. says:

    My friend adored The Bridge and says she thinks I’ll love it. One day my curiosity will get the better of me, but I just don’t know. The way people laud it, it sounds like medicine–something I should endure while I’m reading in hopes of feeling better? I don’t think I said that well, but it’s what’s put me off trying it.

Got something to say?

Something More

my extensive reading

Blue Castle Considerations

thoughtations, contemplations, fulminations & other random things from books...

...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

Voracious reader, book lover, spastic blogger, audiologist. These things are some of me, but not the sum of me.

Queer Romance Month

because love is not a subgenre

Cate Marsden.

Love and Zombies. And books. And infrequent updates.

Book Thingo

Reading (mostly) romance books down under

Shallowreader

...barely scratching the surface

Olivia Dade

Sex. Banter. Nerdery. Love.

Flight into Fantasy

Romance, speculative fiction, and YA book reviews, book chatter, and random silliness

Her Hands, My Hands

The vagaries of my mind, the products of my hands. Not always safe for work.

dabwaha

64 books. 1 Champion. Get your game on.

Stop the STGRB Bullies

Your hypocrisy is showing

Blue Moon

Audiobook reviews and book reviews. Occasional opining.

Miss Bates Reads Romance

Miss Bates is Austen's loquacious spinster in Emma. No doubt Miss Bates read romances ... here's what she would've thought of them.

