A Willful Woman…

Thoughts about books from a romance addict.

Semi-Reviews: Somehow I Kept Listening to These Audiobooks edition

on January 27, 2014

The Last Kiss Goodbye by Karen Robards. Audiobook.

What tickled me: The ending delivered.

What ticked me off: 2 pounds of plot in a 10 pound sack

Who might like it: Anyone hooked by the crazy-sauce of the first book.

The second in the Charlotte Stone series, this reads as if the author cut and pasted huge chunks from the first book over and over. She wants him, she knows she can’t have him, she makes him go away, she prays for him come back, she throws up… over and over. In the background of her angst, there’s a serial killer thing going on. Charlie is also an exceptionally unlikeable heroine, acting in a cruel and insensitive way towards the guy who obviously adores her, for no discernible reason. Yet I’m still hooked, waiting for the third book.

Losing It by Cara MacCormack

What tickled me: I now get the joke about the pet octopus from Tousle Me.

What ticked me off: Spent the first half wondering, “why am I still listening to this? Oh well, I guess it’s something to do while I play candy crush.”

Who might like it: People who like quintessential NA, I guess.

I don’t feel like I can reasonably say much about this, because it’s so far out of the realm of the sort of book I enjoy, I have no idea what it does well or badly.  V card? Hoo-hoo? I’m supposed to take this character seriously? The audiobook narrator’s voice does full justice to the youthful idiocy of the book’s narrator — the fact that she sounds about 14 makes the already icky teacher/student situation even ickier.  The hero’s British accent sounds less than authentic. I kept listening mainly out of inertia, though there was a pretty good dark moment in the second half and I actually got somewhat interested in the story.

2 responses to “Semi-Reviews: Somehow I Kept Listening to These Audiobooks edition

  1. Shannon C. says:

    “Quintessential NA” is such a great phrase to use in a review. One of the things that makes me so sad is that NA has the potential to be a genre I love, but none of the books I hear about sound all that appealing. Except Easy, which I loved, but I wonder if that’s the exception that proves the rule.

    • willaful says:

      I also really liked Easy, which I think is probably the apex of the genre, or one of them. So it certainly can be done well… it just seems as if it so rarely is.

Got something to say?

Something More

my extensive reading

Blue Castle Considerations

thoughtations, contemplations, fulminations & other random things from books...

...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

Voracious reader, book lover, spastic blogger, audiologist. These things are some of me, but not the sum of me.

Queer Romance Month

because love is not a subgenre

Cate Marsden.

Love and Zombies. And books. And infrequent updates.

Book Thingo

Reading (mostly) romance books down under

Shallowreader

...barely scratching the surface

Olivia Dade

Sex. Banter. Nerdery. Love.

Flight into Fantasy

Romance, speculative fiction, and YA book reviews, book chatter, and random silliness

Her Hands, My Hands

The vagaries of my mind, the products of my hands. Not always safe for work.

dabwaha

64 books. 1 Champion. Get your game on.

Stop the STGRB Bullies

Your hypocrisy is showing

Blue Moon

Audiobook reviews and book reviews. Occasional opining.

Miss Bates Reads Romance

Miss Bates is Austen's loquacious spinster in Emma. No doubt Miss Bates read romances ... here's what she would've thought of them.

