A Willful Woman…

Thoughts about books from a romance addict.

technowankery

on January 31, 2014

Hub likes to mock a friend who mentioned gleefully that there’s an app that lets you order pizza from your phone! I was sorry to have to tell him that I have become that woman.

To hold on to the last feeble remnants of my life and privacy, I don’t have a data plan. So yesterday, I was trying to figure out how I could get my phone and kindle synced after I worked out at the gym. I even pondered just reading on my phone the whole time, so I wouldn’t have to worry about it. It took a terrifyingly long time for me to realize that after the gym I would still have my kindle with me and didn’t need to sync it.

Today, I was wishing I’d ripped my CD of the “Frozen” soundtrack so I could listen to it while I drove. Happily, I remembered the existence of the CD player in my car before I left the house, possibly avoiding a major accident from smacking myself in the head while driving.

3 responses to “technowankery

  1. Shannon C. says:

    I get where you’re coming from, but I just have to say that I will not go back to the days when I couldn’t order pizza from my phone. You can’t make me. That said, I did buy the Frozen soundtrack via iTunes even though I had access to a CD I could rip. After which I promptly had a “You are such a millennial. For the love of Pete, go read a dead tree book!” moment in my head.

    • willaful says:

      Really, hub has a nerve mocking this woman because he will do just about anything to avoid making a simple phone call. As will I, and pretty much everyone I know.

  2. AJH says:

    My name’s Alexis Hall, and I’m a technowanker… I seriously can’t function without having all the things on all the things.It gets me really stressed, for no apparent reason except consumer co-dependency I think,if I feel there’s something I can’t instantly access. Even, though, in practice you’re not going to be on a bus and think “wow, what I really right now is a copy of Dracula available on my iWossname.”

    My final capitulation was the abandonment of my faithful USB key and my adoption of Dropbox. Which I love. With all the passion. Because it is the things, and the things are everywhere, and previously I lived in this perpetual but low level state of panic that I was going to get mugged, or just have my USB key stolen, and I’d lose everything. Of course I backed up but there was still that residual fear.

Got something to say?

Something More

my extensive reading

Blue Castle Considerations

thoughtations, contemplations, fulminations & other random things from books...

...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

Voracious reader, book lover, spastic blogger, audiologist. These things are some of me, but not the sum of me.

Queer Romance Month

because love is not a subgenre

Cate Marsden.

Love and Zombies. And books. And infrequent updates.

Book Thingo

Reading (mostly) romance books down under

Shallowreader

...barely scratching the surface

Olivia Dade

Sex. Banter. Nerdery. Love.

Flight into Fantasy

Romance, speculative fiction, and YA book reviews, book chatter, and random silliness

Her Hands, My Hands

The vagaries of my mind, the products of my hands. Not always safe for work.

dabwaha

64 books. 1 Champion. Get your game on.

Stop the STGRB Bullies

Your hypocrisy is showing

Blue Moon

Audiobook reviews and book reviews. Occasional opining.

Miss Bates Reads Romance

Miss Bates is Austen's loquacious spinster in Emma. No doubt Miss Bates read romances ... here's what she would've thought of them.

