A Willful Woman…

Thoughts about books from a romance addict.

Chatty Windshield Wipers

on April 2, 2014

My husband and came home from the gym tonight and waited in the car awhile, enjoying the rain and the darkness and the peace and quiet. (Why yes, it is my son’s spring break, why do you ask?) It reminded me of Up a Road Slowly by Irene Hunt, which has a first kiss in a car in the rain, with the windshield wipers singing out “Julie loves Danny, Julie loves Danny…” (Not literally.)

We often discuss our first romance novel — mine was a Barbara Cartland book so obscure, I can’t even find it with Google, though I’m pretty sure it’s same as Amanda McCabe’s first, mentioned here — but I wonder if that was my first romantic moment in a book? I’m pretty sure I read it before Taran and Eilonwy.

I remembering discovering romances, but I have no memory of discovering romance. But I feel like there was immediate recognition, like the first time you take a bite of chocolate. Oh yes, this is for me.

 

P.S. Oh, I think I found it! I really though the title was something like “The Lord and The Gypsy, “but this description is very familiar. I remember they had a betting book.  Oh yes, and I remember this cover vividly. It was kind of an outlier for Cartland, who strongly favored blonde heroines.

3 responses to “Chatty Windshield Wipers

  1. kaetrin says:

    My first was Gypsy Lady by Shirlee Busbee (I still have it). I think I was about 12 (ish) when I read it. It was in a box of books given to my mum by a friend of hers and I was allowed to read them. I felt deliciously grown up because: sexytimes!!
    It’s pretty rapetastic but I really had no idea at the time.

Got something to say?

Something More

my extensive reading

Blue Castle Considerations

thoughtations, contemplations, fulminations & other random things from books...

...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

Voracious reader, book lover, spastic blogger, audiologist. These things are some of me, but not the sum of me.

Queer Romance Month

because love is not a subgenre

Cate Marsden.

Love and Zombies. And books. And infrequent updates.

Book Thingo

Reading (mostly) romance books down under

Shallowreader

...barely scratching the surface

Olivia Dade

Sex. Banter. Nerdery. Love.

Flight into Fantasy

Romance, speculative fiction, and YA book reviews, book chatter, and random silliness

Her Hands, My Hands

The vagaries of my mind, the products of my hands. Not always safe for work.

dabwaha

64 books. 1 Champion. Get your game on.

Stop the STGRB Bullies

Your hypocrisy is showing

Blue Moon

Audiobook reviews and book reviews. Occasional opining.

Miss Bates Reads Romance

Miss Bates is Austen's loquacious spinster in Emma. No doubt Miss Bates read romances ... here's what she would've thought of them.

