A Willful Woman…

Thoughts about books from a romance addict.

Ruh-Roh

on August 6, 2014

I’ve been doing some reading on Bujold — first Olivia Waite’s fabulous piece contrasting Heyer’s A Civil Contract with Bujold’s A Civil Campaign, then many of the links — which reminded me that I am still being a giant baby about reading Cryoburn, even though I already know the horrible, completely unacceptable event that happens in it. It can’t happen until I read it, right?

And then I remembered I’d started an alphabet challenge and am on… B. And unless I want to retcon a new rule that only romance is allowed, I have no excuse any more.

Except my massive pile of unreviewed ARCs. That’s always a good excuse. I’ll be off to continue reading Truly now. Or I could start The Curse of Chalion! Bwahahahahah!

11 responses to “Ruh-Roh

  1. Miss Bates says:

    *not waving, drowning* over here … huge pile of ARCs, bigger TBR stack, just going on a wing and prayer and whatever strikes my fancy!

    • willaful says:

      Trying to do that as well. I’ve actually been really good about not buying or requesting anything new, but my enforced reviewing vacation after my regular vacation put me behind AGAIN. There aint no justice.

      • Miss Bates says:

        I was away for quite a few days, but managed to write my Heyer post at the B&B every morning. I thought it was a tad disjointed and there was more I wanted to say, but heck. It’s kinda miraculous it was written at all. Now, I’m going to tackle a few ARCs and Wendy’s Luscious Romance is coming up too. (It’s good I never answer the phone. Age-old introvert’s trick; good to get stuff done.)

      • willaful says:

        Oh crap, I managed to forgot all about that. I don’t think I even have any print erotica… hmm…

        Good on ya for getting your post done! Sometimes you just have to say, “it’s as good as it’s going to get” and call it done.

      • Miss Bates says:

        All I have are a few “Blazes” … erotica definitely not a Miss B. thing. But I respect everyone’s right to write and read it.

      • willaful says:

        I enjoy some, but only started to after I stopped buying print. Oh, but I do think I have a copy of Megan Hart’s Dirty… anyway, the theme seems to be actually “anything hotter than Heyer.” 😉

      • Miss Bates says:

        If that’s the theme, then I’m a go. I do have a Blaze by “Meg Maguire” I’ve wanted to read for ages. And … it’s cop-out short!

  2. Barb in Maryland says:

    Re: Cryoburn–Oh, I know! Even though I knew it had to happen >sometime<, I still sobbed like a baby.

    Go ahead–finish 'Truly'–you know you want to

    The Curse of Chalion –oh how I love that book–I can't begin to count the ways that I love it! Court politics is catnip to me. Throw in action, adventure, romance, a reluctant hero and one of the more cogently constructed theologies found in modern fantasy writing and I was hooked.

    Or, if you want to do totally non-threatening Bujold you could read her collection of essays. Titled 'Sidelines', it is a lovely glimpse into the mind of this talented writer.

    • willaful says:

      I’ve actually read it before, but don’t remember it very well and didn’t continue the series. Now I want to. I’m not much of a court politics person, though. Speaking of which, have you read… now what is it called… Melusine by Sarah Monette? Some wonderful characters.

      • Barb in Maryland says:

        Well, if you remember even the basics of ‘Curse of Chalion’ then you can easily move to ‘Paladin of Souls’, which is Ista’s story. Older woman (hey! she’s almost 40) as the heroine and she rocks! And she ends up with a hot guy, too! It’s wonderful. happy Book Noise…

        Yes, I read ‘Melusine’, lo these many years ago, but, alas, I don’t remember a whole lot about it. Just finished her newest (written as Katherine Addison)–The Goblin Emperor. Possibly the best book I’ve read this year. If you have a taste for great fantasy–try this one.

        Ooops, sorry for suggesting even MORE books…..

      • willaful says:

        Oh! I’ve heard of TGE, of course, but had no idea it was the same author. That definitely moves moves it up the pile. I didn’t really love Melusine, but adored the character Mildmay.

Got something to say?

Something More

my extensive reading

Blue Castle Considerations

thoughtations, contemplations, fulminations & other random things from books...

...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

Voracious reader, book lover, spastic blogger, audiologist. These things are some of me, but not the sum of me.

Queer Romance Month

because love is not a subgenre

Cate Marsden.

Love and Zombies. And books. And infrequent updates.

Book Thingo

Reading (mostly) romance books down under

Shallowreader

...barely scratching the surface

Olivia Dade

Sex. Banter. Nerdery. Love.

Flight into Fantasy

Romance, speculative fiction, and YA book reviews, book chatter, and random silliness

Her Hands, My Hands

The vagaries of my mind, the products of my hands. Not always safe for work.

dabwaha

64 books. 1 Champion. Get your game on.

Stop the STGRB Bullies

Your hypocrisy is showing

Blue Moon

Audiobook reviews and book reviews. Occasional opining.

Miss Bates Reads Romance

Miss Bates is Austen's loquacious spinster in Emma. No doubt Miss Bates read romances ... here's what she would've thought of them.

