A Willful Woman…

Thoughts about books from a romance addict.

My Extremely Firm Stand. (At This Moment. Subject to Change Without Notice)

on October 25, 2014

blackout

 

I’m putting up the image to show solidarity with my fellow bloggers. But I’ve decided it would make no sense to stop writing for Heroes and Heartbreakers in an attempt to show that bloggers should be valued and respected, because they’ve always made me feel valued and respected as a blogger.

And it makes little sense to stop blogging/reviewing just for fun, because that’s how I express myself and connect with other readers.  So basically I’m going to do what I always do… review when I’ve made a commitment, and when it simply takes my fancy.

I will definitely be thinking long and hard about future reviewing commitments though, and what authors and publishers I want to support.  Which is messed up in itself, because I don’t want that to be part of what I’m doing. I want it to be about the book and my reaction to the book, not the author or the publisher. I don’t want to be a part of the financial equation.

Maybe reviewing only dead authors is the way to go.

 

7 responses to “My Extremely Firm Stand. (At This Moment. Subject to Change Without Notice)

  1. Miss Bates says:

    It’s so very hard to figure all of this out, isn’t it? I want my integrity to come through when I write about books (I won’t use the “reviewing” designation anymore); I don’t want to be part of the publishing equation, but I DON’T want to come across as punitive either. I’ve been trying to rehash my reviewing policy and rating scheme and all that jazz and I must have changed it about a million times today.

  2. Lori says:

    I think you’re making the right choice for yourself. Carolyn and I aren’t reviewers by any means but we’ve been discussing what this means to us and the best ways to do what we love without supporting behavior that we can’t condone.

    The discussion amongst bloggers is the important part of the equation I think.

  3. azteclady says:

    We all have to do what feels right for each one of us, and I completely understand, for example, that you want to continue writing for Heroes and Heartbreakers. My impression is that they understand and value what bloggers do, and that they always have.

    • willaful says:

      They do, which is why I think so many great people in the romance community — Super Wendy, John, Limecello, Janet Webb — have wound up there.

      • Miss Bates says:

        One of the things I like best abt that site (which I don’t visit daily like blogger sites, but still) is that they have a best of the month by a variety of bloggers. I think that’s lovely recognition.

Got something to say?

Something More

my extensive reading

Blue Castle Considerations

thoughtations, contemplations, fulminations & other random things from books...

...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

Voracious reader, book lover, spastic blogger, audiologist. These things are some of me, but not the sum of me.

Queer Romance Month

because love is not a subgenre

Cate Marsden.

Love and Zombies. And books. And infrequent updates.

Book Thingo

Reading (mostly) romance books down under

Shallowreader

...barely scratching the surface

Olivia Dade

Sex. Banter. Nerdery. Love.

Flight into Fantasy

Romance, speculative fiction, and YA book reviews, book chatter, and random silliness

Her Hands, My Hands

The vagaries of my mind, the products of my hands. Not always safe for work.

dabwaha

64 books. 1 Champion. Get your game on.

Stop the STGRB Bullies

Your hypocrisy is showing

Blue Moon

Audiobook reviews and book reviews. Occasional opining.

Miss Bates Reads Romance

Miss Bates is Austen's loquacious spinster in Emma. No doubt Miss Bates read romances ... here's what she would've thought of them.

