A Willful Woman…

Thoughts about books from a romance addict.

The 12 Stress Free Days of Christmas? Day 2

on December 27, 2014

Only Enchanting by Mary Balogh.

What tickled my fancy: unexpectedly interesting plot

What ticked me off: tic tic tic

Who might like it: Those fond of Balogh’s quieter stories.

I’ve written elsewhere about how tired I am of Balogh’s writing tics, and they’re still here in all their fine array. However, I find I can … not ignore them, but not let them bother me too much, if the book is otherwise interesting. This one didn’t seem worth the trouble at first, but I liked the hero’s vulnerability — head injuries have left him with memory blanks and some trouble speaking — and then the story went down some unexpected paths. I’m not sure how plausible it is that a hero with Flava Flav Flavian’s history would be of the cool, witty type, but eh.

The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare and various.

Finished up the stories I hadn’t already read.  The quality of the stories varies widely, but they’re interesting if you like the world/characters. (Which I do.)

Gone But Not Forgotten by Sabrina Jeffries

Not a romance, but a very short story in a small town series. I have no interest at all in the series and kind of skimmed this, but I enjoyed how the author made a fairly severely autistic boy into a hero. (In the traditional sense.)

A Case of Possession by KJ Charles

“There was a fractional moment of total stillness. Then the rats came.”

EEEEEEEEEE!!!!!

Possibly even creepier than the first in the series: Rodents Of Unusual Size! I’m not sure how much more my heart can take. On the bright side, also more romantic.

Interlude with Tattoos by KJ Charles

Cute short vignette from the “Charm of Magpie” series. I read it in the wrong order, but it doesn’t matter much.

Got something to say?

Something More

my extensive reading

Blue Castle Considerations

thoughtations, contemplations, fulminations & other random things from books...

...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

Voracious reader, book lover, spastic blogger, audiologist. These things are some of me, but not the sum of me.

Queer Romance Month

because love is not a subgenre

Cate Marsden.

Love and Zombies. And books. And infrequent updates.

Book Thingo

Reading (mostly) romance books down under

Shallowreader

...barely scratching the surface

Olivia Dade

Sex. Banter. Nerdery. Love.

Flight into Fantasy

Romance, speculative fiction, and YA book reviews, book chatter, and random silliness

Her Hands, My Hands

The vagaries of my mind, the products of my hands. Not always safe for work.

dabwaha

64 books. 1 Champion. Get your game on.

Stop the STGRB Bullies

Your hypocrisy is showing

Blue Moon

Audiobook reviews and book reviews. Occasional opining.

Miss Bates Reads Romance

Miss Bates is Austen's loquacious spinster in Emma. No doubt Miss Bates read romances ... here's what she would've thought of them.

