A Willful Woman…

Thoughts about books from a romance addict.

The 12 Stress Free Days of Christmas? Day 7

on January 1, 2015

The Future for Curious People by Gregory Sherl.

Although the heroine is a librarian, this struck me as a very… cinematic book. The plot is somewhat similar to the movie “TiMER,” with a touch of “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind” thrown in — and as with “TiMER,” I was left uncertain about what I was supposed to take away from it, philosophically speaking.

A book comparison would be Rainbow Rowell’s Attachments, because it’s a romance in which the main characters are involved with other people and don’t meet for a long time. (Although any book suffers in comparison to Attachments.) It’s funny, and the characters are sweet, so although it was a bit thin I mostly enjoyed reading it. One thing I found odd was a very British vibe that kept cropping up, in the names (Mark Thigpen?!) and the heroine’s using the term shite, and a few other things. I assumed the author was a Brit trying to sound American, and was surprised to find he lives in the U.S.

And, while doing a little research just now, I found a whole lot of sexual abuse allegations against him, which makes me glad I decided against reviewing this for “Dear Author.”

The Year We Hid Away by Sarina Bowen

I started this and found the premise overwhelming, so decided to skip to the next one. But I was curious enough to read the ending, and then wound up going back and reading most of the middle… so I sort of read it after all. My impression is it’s really quite a good book and packs a nice emotional punch.

So I’m finding that even these relatively brief notes are increasing my stress level; I’m going to take a break for a few days and just enjoy my books. Catch you on the flip side!

2 responses to “The 12 Stress Free Days of Christmas? Day 7

  1. Barb in Maryland says:

    Willa
    It sounds like you need a week on a tropical beach with your favorite beverage in your hand. And your favorite books to read! (Well, that’s MY stress-busting fantasy! I can do the drink and the books but the tropical beach part is currently out of reach. Rats!!)
    Take care of yourself in this new year.

Got something to say?

Something More

my extensive reading

Blue Castle Considerations

thoughtations, contemplations, fulminations & other random things from books...

...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

Voracious reader, book lover, spastic blogger, audiologist. These things are some of me, but not the sum of me.

Queer Romance Month

because love is not a subgenre

Cate Marsden.

Love and Zombies. And books. And infrequent updates.

Book Thingo

Reading (mostly) romance books down under

Shallowreader

...barely scratching the surface

Olivia Dade

Sex. Banter. Nerdery. Love.

Flight into Fantasy

Romance, speculative fiction, and YA book reviews, book chatter, and random silliness

Her Hands, My Hands

The vagaries of my mind, the products of my hands. Not always safe for work.

dabwaha

64 books. 1 Champion. Get your game on.

Stop the STGRB Bullies

Your hypocrisy is showing

Blue Moon

Audiobook reviews and book reviews. Occasional opining.

Miss Bates Reads Romance

Miss Bates is Austen's loquacious spinster in Emma. No doubt Miss Bates read romances ... here's what she would've thought of them.

