A Willful Woman…

Thoughts about books from a romance addict.

The 12 Stress Free Days of Christmas? Day 11

on January 4, 2015

What I’ve read the last few days.

(ETA: I forgot to mention that I read several chapters of Revenant by Larissa Ione, but doubt I’m going to finish it. Requires a much stronger stomach than I have these days.)

The Understatement of the Year by Sarina Bowen. I like Bowen’s voice, but this is the first of her books I’ve really loved. The emotions are powerful and the plotting is just excellent, smartly walking the fine line between giving readers what they want and not doing it in exactly the same way readers expect.

The one thing I didn’t like was the portrayal of a very sexually active young woman which is obviously intended to be positive and an antidote to NA slut-shaming, but has her coming on to men in a really harassing way that is never challenged. Would be nice if that were addressed when she gets her own book, which I suspect she will.

Anyway, I could not have chosen much better for a first book of the year! Very glad I didn’t ring it in with…

Season of Shadows by Yvonne Whittal. Oh. My. God. Horrific old skool cruel hero trainwreck. Imagine everything you’d be afraid to find in an old Harlequin and here it is.

Kissing Outside the Lines by Diane Farr. Okay, I’m stupid… I bought this thinking it was our Diane Farr, and that it would be fascinating to read about her interracial marriage. Several pages of offensive racist tripe later, I realized it was a completely different Diane Farr and I dislike her intensely. DNF.

Handful of Stardust by Yvonne Whittal. I’m going to chalk reading this one up to my getting ANOTHER concussion and the sequel to Illusion I’d started being simply beyond me. But I doubt I’ll ever read Whittal again. The South African settings are really uncomfortable — South Africa in the seventies is like the American South in the 30s — even aside from the kidnapping hero and pretty much literal Stockholm Syndrome.

I’m starting to feel the pressure of work commitments, but am going to try to give myself one more day of reading what I want. I have the concussion excuse, after all. I would’ve read more than this, but I spent most of yesterday with a ferocious migraine. 😦

7 responses to “The 12 Stress Free Days of Christmas? Day 11

  1. Miss Bates says:

    Wishing you a speedy recovery! I loved reading these posts.

  2. hilly says:

    Hey, Willa, I’m keeping up with your posts, too, and so now you have me very worried about your concussed state! Please do take care of your noggin, as well as the admirable mind within, and feel better soonest. May your New Year improve. Best wishes!

    • willaful says:

      Aww, thanks Hilly! I can be thankful that it’s nothing like as bad as what happened in The Understatement of the Year — now *there’s* a concussion! Remind me never to play hockey. 😉

  3. Jorrie Spencer says:

    I really loved The Understatement of the Year too. Made my personal best-of list for 2014. But, you know, I’d forgotten till you mentioned it that even while I liked Bella a lot, some of her actions made me uncomfortable.

Got something to say?

Something More

my extensive reading

Blue Castle Considerations

thoughtations, contemplations, fulminations & other random things from books...

...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

Voracious reader, book lover, spastic blogger, audiologist. These things are some of me, but not the sum of me.

Queer Romance Month

because love is not a subgenre

Cate Marsden.

Love and Zombies. And books. And infrequent updates.

Book Thingo

Reading (mostly) romance books down under

Shallowreader

...barely scratching the surface

Olivia Dade

Sex. Banter. Nerdery. Love.

Flight into Fantasy

Romance, speculative fiction, and YA book reviews, book chatter, and random silliness

Her Hands, My Hands

The vagaries of my mind, the products of my hands. Not always safe for work.

dabwaha

64 books. 1 Champion. Get your game on.

Stop the STGRB Bullies

Your hypocrisy is showing

Blue Moon

Audiobook reviews and book reviews. Occasional opining.

Miss Bates Reads Romance

Miss Bates is Austen's loquacious spinster in Emma. No doubt Miss Bates read romances ... here's what she would've thought of them.

