A Willful Woman…

Thoughts about books from a romance addict.

The 12 Stress Free Days of Christmas? Day 12

on January 5, 2015

Securing the Greek’s  Legacy by Julia James.

This had the three elements I most dislike in James’s work: 1) an overwrought, obsessively maternal heroine, who makes constant speeches littered with exclamations points, 2) a hero who only gets interested in the heroine after she has a makeover, and 3) a secret that is no secret. It was also dull to the point that I almost gave it up, though did pick up towards the end.

~~

Kind of a downer end to the fun, but the knowledge that I have reviewing commitments to meet means an inevitable end to my stress free days. Sigh.

Stats, because that’s just who I am:

I read 15 books and started maybe 5 more. I officially DNF’d 2, but am still in the middle of several and some aren’t going to make it any further.

Two books were in print, the rest ebooks.

Star ratings ranged from 1 to 4 1/2. I read one book, The Understatement of the Year, that likely would’ve gone on my best of last year if I’d read it in time.

I made strides in 5 series and probably gave up on 1 (“Lords of Deliverance.”). Harlequin was the most represented publisher (quelle surprise!) with 5 books. Authors were largely personal favorites, with two New To Me (Susanna Carr and Gregory Sherl) and one Never Again (Yvonne Whittal.)

4 responses to “The 12 Stress Free Days of Christmas? Day 12

  1. Barb in Maryland says:

    Oh, Yvonne Whittal! Now there’s a blast from the past…
    And, no she wasn’t one of those I read on a regular basis, but i did read a couple (totally forgotten what they were about). She seemed to bounce back and forth between regular Harlequins and HPs.
    She did do interesting settings–like South Africa–

    • willaful says:

      I actually found the South African setting made me really uncomfortable in both books. The racism is so institutionalized and unquestioned, and there’s mystical native women with prophetic Powers in both books…

      • Barb in Maryland says:

        Oh so true!
        But just the chance to see any part of the world that wasn’t England or the US. And, at the time, the attitude merely niggled–where now it screams. Sad, but probably true, for more real time readers than just me.

      • willaful says:

        An HP author who’s really good for other settings and not generally offensive is Karen van der Zee.

Got something to say?

Something More

my extensive reading

Blue Castle Considerations

thoughtations, contemplations, fulminations & other random things from books...

...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

Voracious reader, book lover, spastic blogger, audiologist. These things are some of me, but not the sum of me.

Queer Romance Month

because love is not a subgenre

Cate Marsden.

Love and Zombies. And books. And infrequent updates.

Book Thingo

Reading (mostly) romance books down under

Shallowreader

...barely scratching the surface

Olivia Dade

Sex. Banter. Nerdery. Love.

Flight into Fantasy

Romance, speculative fiction, and YA book reviews, book chatter, and random silliness

Her Hands, My Hands

The vagaries of my mind, the products of my hands. Not always safe for work.

dabwaha

64 books. 1 Champion. Get your game on.

Stop the STGRB Bullies

Your hypocrisy is showing

Blue Moon

Audiobook reviews and book reviews. Occasional opining.

Miss Bates Reads Romance

Miss Bates is Austen's loquacious spinster in Emma. No doubt Miss Bates read romances ... here's what she would've thought of them.

