A Willful Woman…

Thoughts about books from a romance addict.

Flowers Under Ice by Jean Ross Ewing

on January 15, 2015

Well, this sequel to Illusion was really disappointing, especially given that I think it was my very last Julia Ross book other than her traditional Regencies. One of the things that bugged me is that the hero is almost exactly like the one in Illusion — prone to literary quotes, and always with method to his madness. But the big issue was that I found the plot utterly ridiculous.

I read My Beautiful Enemy by Sherry Thomas the other day  (often lovely, though not her best, and I think I actually enjoyed The Hidden Blade more) and it made me think about the nature of coincidence in romance novels. There are some major coincidences happening in MBE, but it’s integrated into the story as the hand of fate, so it works pretty well.  There are huge coincidences  in Flowers Under Glass and we’re just supposed to accept them; even the characters aren’t surprised by them.  I think this is pretty common for Ross’s work, where there are always plots within plots. Maybe it wouldn’t have bothered me so much here if the motivations for people’s actions weren’t so ludicrous.

Got something to say?

Something More

my extensive reading

Blue Castle Considerations

thoughtations, contemplations, fulminations & other random things from books...

...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

Voracious reader, book lover, spastic blogger, audiologist. These things are some of me, but not the sum of me.

Queer Romance Month

because love is not a subgenre

Cate Marsden.

Love and Zombies. And books. And infrequent updates.

Book Thingo

Reading (mostly) romance books down under

Shallowreader

...barely scratching the surface

Olivia Dade

Sex. Banter. Nerdery. Love.

Flight into Fantasy

Romance, speculative fiction, and YA book reviews, book chatter, and random silliness

Her Hands, My Hands

The vagaries of my mind, the products of my hands. Not always safe for work.

dabwaha

64 books. 1 Champion. Get your game on.

Stop the STGRB Bullies

Your hypocrisy is showing

Blue Moon

Audiobook reviews and book reviews. Occasional opining.

Miss Bates Reads Romance

Miss Bates is Austen's loquacious spinster in Emma. No doubt Miss Bates read romances ... here's what she would've thought of them.

