A Willful Woman…

Thoughts about books from a romance addict.

The State of the Reading

on January 19, 2015

It’s early days yet, but so far I’m having a pretty good reading year! I haven’t made any official resolutions, but have been trying to keep self-care and enjoyment in mind. I think if I put it into words, my resolution is, I’m giving up self-imposed responsibilities. Not all responsibilities — I still have deadlines to meet. But any responsibilities towards goals or… fairness… or stretching or broader coverage.  I can’t fix the romance genre, and I certainly can’t help it by burning out.

One thing I’ve noticed is that it does me a tremendous amount of good to read books I specifically wanted to read. The TBR may only shrink by one book, but the effects are exponential. I guess it gives me a sense that I’m spending my life the way I want to be spending it?

3 responses to “The State of the Reading

  1. Barb in Maryland says:

    Yay, Willa!
    Yes, the absolute pleasure when the book you wanted to read turns out to be good and you enjoyed reading it. Happy sighs.
    May any book you “have to” read (because of commitments) also be good.
    For myself, I am quick to DNF something that I’m not enjoying or that is not to my taste.. So I really dislike the ‘there goes 3 hours I’ll never get back’ feeling when I finish a book that was just ‘meh’.

  2. azteclady says:

    The TBR may only shrink by one book, but the effects are exponential. I guess it gives me a sense that I’m spending my life the way I want to be spending it?

    This, I think, is the crux of the matter.

    Even if/when you decide mid-book that nope, it’s not quite what you were looking for, and drop it (permanently or temporarily), the fact that when you did grab it in the first place it was because that’s what you were in the mood for/wanted to read, is empowering as heck.

    And each time you do that, it makes it easier to do it again, and again…

Got something to say?

Something More

my extensive reading

Blue Castle Considerations

thoughtations, contemplations, fulminations & other random things from books...

...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

Voracious reader, book lover, spastic blogger, audiologist. These things are some of me, but not the sum of me.

Queer Romance Month

because love is not a subgenre

Cate Marsden.

Love and Zombies. And books. And infrequent updates.

Book Thingo

Reading (mostly) romance books down under

Shallowreader

...barely scratching the surface

Olivia Dade

Sex. Banter. Nerdery. Love.

Flight into Fantasy

Romance, speculative fiction, and YA book reviews, book chatter, and random silliness

Her Hands, My Hands

The vagaries of my mind, the products of my hands. Not always safe for work.

dabwaha

64 books. 1 Champion. Get your game on.

Stop the STGRB Bullies

Your hypocrisy is showing

Blue Moon

Audiobook reviews and book reviews. Occasional opining.

Miss Bates Reads Romance

Miss Bates is Austen's loquacious spinster in Emma. No doubt Miss Bates read romances ... here's what she would've thought of them.

