A Willful Woman…

Thoughts about books from a romance addict.

I Gotta Be Me

on March 27, 2015

(This post is not meant as a swipe at Jane; it’s really just about me and my own feelings.)

As a reviewer, I’ve been scared on the internet for a long time.  Scared of being doxxed. Scared of offending people. Scared of making enemies. It’s never stopped me reviewing honestly, but I can’t say it’s never shut me up, much though I wish I could. I’ve been sitting on a lot of my real opinions, so as not to rock the boat or offend people I care about.

And I finally reached a line I couldn’t cross. And the amazing thing is, now I don’t feel scared any more. I would much prefer not to be doxxed or harrassed, of course. But if I am doxxed people will discover… that I’m exactly who I’ve always said I am. Right now I can’t think of anything I’d rather be.

7 responses to “I Gotta Be Me

  1. L. W. says:

    Again, I have much respect for you. I look forward to reading your future reviews.

  2. Olivia Dade says:

    I’m glad to hear that in the midst of so much turmoil, you’ve found a place of peace, Willa. 🙂

  3. Jen says:

    I too have been increasingly scared about reviewing. In some ways it’s made me a better reviewer because I try to really think thinks through and examine potential arguments and offenses before I post anything, but in other ways it’s made it less fun for me because I’m always stressed about all those things you mentioned. And you wrote for such a high profile site that has *always* drawn lots of negative attention! I’m not nearly so high profile, so for now I’ll keep at it, but it has changed my habits pretty significantly. I am way, way less likely to review new authors, and I’m getting much choosier about accepting books from publishers. I’m glad your decision is removing some of the fear factor for you!

    • willaful says:

      Honestly, I was surprised at how very little negative attention I got at Dear Author. I guess I never wrote anything controversial enough to draw it out. But I often steeled myself for trouble and then nothing happened.

  4. SuperWendy says:

    I’ve been reviewing books online for a long time, and what Jen said. I used to think of 10 years ago was “wild west” – but since the Hale “thing” I’ve found the past year to be way more unsettled than I thought it ever would be. I think you can pinpoint a lot of this on the emergence of GoodReads and the shifting marketplace (shrinking retail spaces for books, bye-bye Borders etc.), but I don’t think that’s the whole answer (a decent chunk but not the whole). At this point, what can you do? I mean, really? Not much except keep true to yourself – which is what I’ve been trying to do. I figure at this point any content I have been spewing forth online speaks for itself (be that for good or for ill – I figure it’s a bit of both depending on who you ask!)

Got something to say?

Something More

my extensive reading

Blue Castle Considerations

thoughtations, contemplations, fulminations & other random things from books...

...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

Voracious reader, book lover, spastic blogger, audiologist. These things are some of me, but not the sum of me.

Queer Romance Month

because love is not a subgenre

Cate Marsden.

Love and Zombies. And books. And infrequent updates.

Book Thingo

Reading (mostly) romance books down under

Shallowreader

...barely scratching the surface

Olivia Dade

Sex. Banter. Nerdery. Love.

Flight into Fantasy

Romance, speculative fiction, and YA book reviews, book chatter, and random silliness

Her Hands, My Hands

The vagaries of my mind, the products of my hands. Not always safe for work.

dabwaha

64 books. 1 Champion. Get your game on.

Stop the STGRB Bullies

Your hypocrisy is showing

Blue Moon

Audiobook reviews and book reviews. Occasional opining.

Miss Bates Reads Romance

Miss Bates is Austen's loquacious spinster in Emma. No doubt Miss Bates read romances ... here's what she would've thought of them.

