A Willful Woman…

Thoughts about books from a romance addict.

TBR Challenge: Mind Games by Carolyn Crane

on July 14, 2015

The theme: a RITA nominee or winner. I’m fudging here, because I’m just too damn busy to start another book. This wasn’t a nominee, but the author did win a RITA recently, and the first for a self-published book! So we’ll just say this is in honor of that.

Why this one: I was sick of historicals and contemporaries, and this was one of my TBR books I really did want to read.

I can see why this received so much good buzz, because the premise is not only unusual and intriguingly full of moral ambiguity, but will leave many readers green with envy. A way to relieve yourself of your most debilitating neuroses while also fighting crime? Oh my God, who cares about moral ambiguity — sign me up!

The story has an amusing comic book vibe, with its “Midcity” setting, weirdly named villains, and dark heroes. And it is definitely refreshing to read about an urban fantasy heroine who suffers from major hypochondria, and whose superpower derives from that. Unfortunately, I didn’t find Justine enjoyable in many other ways. She thinks of herself as only moderately attractive, but her milkshake brings all the boys to the yard. She’s also obnoxiously stubborn, and ridiculously clueless; if this were a movie, everyone would be shouting at her not to go into the damn basement. She’s clearly intended to be flawed, but it’s overkill.

On the bright side, Justine grows as a character throughout the series — though I’m not sure she ever gets all that bright — and the storyline becomes increasingly exciting and intense, as well as thoughtful. (The books are also a touch grisly, which makes me a little worried about following Crane into the romantic suspense genre.) I was impressed with how cleverly Justine’s romantic interests are depicted, since she’s so dense she’s essentially an unreliable narrator.

One response to “TBR Challenge: Mind Games by Carolyn Crane

  1. I love watching urban fantasy heroines grow over the course of their series, but I’m not sure about Justine. The hypochondria aspect seems interesting though so I may give this a try someday.

Got something to say?

Something More

my extensive reading

Blue Castle Considerations

thoughtations, contemplations, fulminations & other random things from books...

...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

Voracious reader, book lover, spastic blogger, audiologist. These things are some of me, but not the sum of me.

Queer Romance Month

because love is not a subgenre

Cate Marsden.

Love and Zombies. And books. And infrequent updates.

Book Thingo

Reading (mostly) romance books down under

Shallowreader

...barely scratching the surface

Olivia Dade

Sex. Banter. Nerdery. Love.

Flight into Fantasy

Romance, speculative fiction, and YA book reviews, book chatter, and random silliness

Her Hands, My Hands

The vagaries of my mind, the products of my hands. Not always safe for work.

dabwaha

64 books. 1 Champion. Get your game on.

Stop the STGRB Bullies

Your hypocrisy is showing

Blue Moon

Audiobook reviews and book reviews. Occasional opining.

Miss Bates Reads Romance

Miss Bates is Austen's loquacious spinster in Emma. No doubt Miss Bates read romances ... here's what she would've thought of them.

