A Willful Woman…

Thoughts about books from a romance addict.

TBR Challenge: More Than You Dreamed by Kathleen Gilles Seidel

on August 19, 2015

The theme: a book you bought on impulse, or that you forgot why you bought. I picked this up just because it was a romance, never having heard of the author at that point.

Why this one: I used to be a huge old movie buff, so I was intrigued by the setting.

 

A bit before I started reading this, someone tweeted about how “show don’t tell” was overdone advice, which was ruining the omniscient narrator. I was very ticked off when someone downgraded The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Bates on that basis, so I certainly agreed; although the immediacy of deep POV can be a very effective technique, a good omniscient narrator has a real charm. This is a thick, “women’s fiction”-y sort of book more than a romance, which was a little hard for me to get into, but Seidel’s nonchalant voice really grew on me.

The main characters are Jill Casler, the extremely wealthy daughter of a Hollywood director, and Doug Ringling, the nephew (and spitting image) of the actor who played Jill’s first major crush. Doug also lives and works with one of Jill’s little known relatives from her father’s first marriage, in Virginia. When he approaches Jill about a mystery involving his uncle’s film, “Weary Hearts,” she finds herself being drawn into family life and questioning her adored father’s integrity.

This was a very leisurely read, especially by current standards. It just barely qualifies as a romance, and if you require lots of passionate words and sex scenes, don’t even bother. But it has a wonderful sense of time and place, vivid characters and a lot of humor. Some of the mystery is quite guessable and some is a real surprise — though the main point of it is to give a direction that makes both Jill and Doug realize how much they’ve been drifting.

I was a little concerned when I started the book that the Southern setting and Confederate soldier aspects of “Weary Hearts” might be uncomfortable. They were actually mostly okay: Doug even invites Jill to a Civil War reenactment by asking her, “Do you want to accompany us warriors as we march off to celebrate our Glorious, Noble, Sexist and Racist Past?” But ironically enough, there’s some no doubt well-intentioned interactions with Doug’s black college roommate that really made me squirm.

That was really the only part of the book that didn’t age well, for me. I enjoyed the glimpse into filmmaking, and the bits of movie trivia, and the imaginative power that brought a totally fictional movie to life.

4 responses to “TBR Challenge: More Than You Dreamed by Kathleen Gilles Seidel

  1. L. W. says:

    This book sounds intriguing and right up my alley. I went through an old movies period as well, and I still like them. Do you think More than You Dreamed would be a good place to start with Seidel?

  2. Jen_FairyTales says:

    This doesn’t sound like something I would pick up, but I’m glad that it worked (for the most part) out for you. Thanks for the thoughtful comments on deep POV as well.

  3. lawless says:

    I think I was the one whose tweet you mention. (Actually a retweet about the uses of exposition with comments from me about omniscient POV.) Someone else — I think it might be SuperWendy, but I’m not sure — recommended Kathleen Gilles Seidel’s books to me. This sounds like it might be a good place to start. I’ve at least added to my romance “books to look for” list.

Got something to say?

Something More

my extensive reading

Blue Castle Considerations

thoughtations, contemplations, fulminations & other random things from books...

...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

Voracious reader, book lover, spastic blogger, audiologist. These things are some of me, but not the sum of me.

Queer Romance Month

because love is not a subgenre

Cate Marsden.

Love and Zombies. And books. And infrequent updates.

Book Thingo

Reading (mostly) romance books down under

Shallowreader

...barely scratching the surface

Olivia Dade

Sex. Banter. Nerdery. Love.

Flight into Fantasy

Romance, speculative fiction, and YA book reviews, book chatter, and random silliness

Her Hands, My Hands

The vagaries of my mind, the products of my hands. Not always safe for work.

dabwaha

64 books. 1 Champion. Get your game on.

Stop the STGRB Bullies

Your hypocrisy is showing

Blue Moon

Audiobook reviews and book reviews. Occasional opining.

Miss Bates Reads Romance

Miss Bates is Austen's loquacious spinster in Emma. No doubt Miss Bates read romances ... here's what she would've thought of them.

