A Willful Woman…

Thoughts about books from a romance addict.

I’m Free!

on December 23, 2015

After more than a year, I was feeling really burnt out with doing the m/m roundup, so I passed it on to another blogger. (She listed Alex Beecroft’s The Reluctant Berserker as one of her favorites of last year, so I think it’ll be in good hands!) I’ll still be writing for “Heroes and Heartbreakers” when I have a good idea for a post.

Basically this means I am totally free from having to care about new books anymore! Man, what a glorious feeling! Not that I won’t still be interested in some of them, but I can read completely by mood now.

I’m celebrating by reading Fever Pitch by Heidi Cullinan. 🙂

9 responses to “I’m Free!

  1. Nice!

    I always have to keep myself from feeling like I can’t read and review older books. It’s like “Well who’d be interested in that old thing?” Well obviously someone might be, because I am.

  2. SuperWendy says:

    As someone else who does a monthly round-up for H&H – I get it. They’re a lot of work!

    I will say this about older books – I feel like it’s easier to read/review them now with less guilt than back in the “good old days.” Why? Because we now live in the glorious age of digital backlists. Authors with reverted rights self-publishing older titles. Harlequins that stick around forever in digital and don’t disappear after a month in physical retail spaces. It’s a great time to be alive 🙂

  3. Congrats though I will miss your round-ups! We share tastes especially in the M/M genre. Yeah for Fever Pitch!

  4. Lori says:

    Yay you. Enjoy your less hectic reading.

  5. Enjoy your freedom, Willaful. And enjoy FEVER PITCH — a really good choice for holiday feel-goods.

  6. Bona says:

    Congrats for your freedom. As a blogger, I do rarely review new books and instead of that I try to rescue oldies but goldies, and it’s very refreshing when you read something just because it’s good or many people love it and not because it’s the latest release. Reading a certain book should never be a duty, so please read whatever you want, no matter when it was published.

Got something to say?

Something More

my extensive reading

Blue Castle Considerations

thoughtations, contemplations, fulminations & other random things from books...

...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

Voracious reader, book lover, spastic blogger, audiologist. These things are some of me, but not the sum of me.

Queer Romance Month

because love is not a subgenre

Cate Marsden.

Love and Zombies. And books. And infrequent updates.

Book Thingo

Reading (mostly) romance books down under

Shallowreader

...barely scratching the surface

Olivia Dade

Sex. Banter. Nerdery. Love.

Flight into Fantasy

Romance, speculative fiction, and YA book reviews, book chatter, and random silliness

Her Hands, My Hands

The vagaries of my mind, the products of my hands. Not always safe for work.

dabwaha

64 books. 1 Champion. Get your game on.

Stop the STGRB Bullies

Your hypocrisy is showing

Blue Moon

Audiobook reviews and book reviews. Occasional opining.

Miss Bates Reads Romance

Miss Bates is Austen's loquacious spinster in Emma. No doubt Miss Bates read romances ... here's what she would've thought of them.

