A Willful Woman…

Thoughts about books from a romance addict.

TBR Challenge: Finders Keepers by Linnea Sinclair

on July 20, 2016

The theme: Lovely RITA. This was a RITA finalist.

Why this one: I couldn’t seem to get through any of my historicals. To put it as politely as possible, the RITA committees and I seem to have tastes in historicals that’s about as opposite as you can get. (With some exceptions, of course.)

I was thinking that Finders Keepers was more romance than science fiction, but towards the end I realized it’s more that it’s a subgenre of science fiction I don’t read much — space opera. Not a lot of world-building or character development, but lots of scheming, shooting, and escaping. Since it’s also gorgeously romantic, I enjoyed it a lot.

Captain Trilby Elliot is flying solo (apart from a sweet, loquacious droid, Dezi.) Being dumped by her lover has left her hurting, and she’s struggling to make ends meet on a transport ship held together with duct tape and ingenuity. When she finds an abandoned, injured human from a planet her society has a hostile truce with, she takes him aboard, only to find the healed man is very sexy and very devious.

Rhis (pronounced Reece) is a pretty standard romance hero. Intimidating, somewhat emotionally scarred, and very alpha, in the sense that he’s extremely protective, possessive, and thinks he knows best. But he and Trilby work together really well, and when he gets tender with her…. oh my. Rhis teaching Trilby how to say “I want you” in his language is a running… a running swoon? There are all kinds of difficulties, from Trilby’s fear of being hurt again to aliens trying to kill her, but the combined courage and smarts of the couple make it all work.

16 responses to “TBR Challenge: Finders Keepers by Linnea Sinclair

  1. Olivia Dade says:

    My brain, Section A: Oh, that sounds amazing! I need to get it!

    My brain, Section B: It also sounds familiar. Why don’t you see if you already have it?

    My brain, Section A: [brief pause and trip to Amazon] I do! It was buried in my enormous digital TBR pile, and I had no idea! With over five hundred books waiting to be read, how could I remember?

    My brain, Section B: I don’t know whether to be heartened or saddened by that news.

    My brain, Section A: Be glad! At least you don’t have to buy it!

    My brain, Section B: Or any other book. For like a million years.

    My brain, Section A: Spoilsport.

  2. This book has been on my radar for several years, but I didn’t know if buying it or not. I read Games of Command and I liked it. But then I tried another one by Linnea Sinclair whose title I can’t remember and it was so boring that I stopped reading it. Now that I’ve read your review I think I will give it a try.

  3. Valancy says:

    I remember I really did like this one!
    (I have an ongoing love/hate relationship with space opera – sometimes it’s great and other times I just shake my mental fist at it)

    My copy has the unfortunate-cover with scary-angry heroine using her weapon in a way that makes very little logical sense…and I always feel a little self-righteous that I DID NOT judge it’s cover precipitously. 😇

  4. Dorine says:

    Glad you found a book you enjoyed this month! I don’t read much science fiction but this book has been on my list to try for years. I love that it’s “gorgeously romantic” so it will go on the wishlist.

  5. Lynn says:

    Gosh darn it, I really thought I had this one in my TBR pile but it’s not there! *adds another one* I’m a closet sci-fi fan but not of everything. I prefer it to have romance and be on the “light” side of sci-fi. I don’t need to know how it works, just that it does. 🙂 Thanks for the rec!

  6. Ed Hoornaert says:

    This is my favourite book by Sinclair.

  7. cleo says:

    I really liked Games of Command and I enjoyed Accidental Goddess, but those are the only Linnea Sinclair I’ve read. This one sounds good too.

  8. […] TBR Challenge: Finders Keepers by Linnea Sinclair Jul […]

Got something to say?

Something More

my extensive reading

Blue Castle Considerations

thoughtations, contemplations, fulminations & other random things from books...

...Burns Through Her Bookshelf

Voracious reader, book lover, spastic blogger, audiologist. These things are some of me, but not the sum of me.

Queer Romance Month

because love is not a subgenre

Cate Marsden.

Love and Zombies. And books. And infrequent updates.

Book Thingo

Reading (mostly) romance books down under

Shallowreader

...barely scratching the surface

Olivia Dade

Sex. Banter. Nerdery. Love.

Flight into Fantasy

Romance, speculative fiction, and YA book reviews, book chatter, and random silliness

Her Hands, My Hands

The vagaries of my mind, the products of my hands. Not always safe for work.

dabwaha

64 books. 1 Champion. Get your game on.

Stop the STGRB Bullies

Your hypocrisy is showing

Blue Moon

Audiobook reviews and book reviews. Occasional opining.

Miss Bates Reads Romance

Miss Bates is Austen's loquacious spinster in Emma. No doubt Miss Bates read romances ... here's what she would've thought of them.

